The Women’s World Boxing Championships Completes 20 Years

With the Women’s World Championships 2022 starting on Sunday in Istanbul, we look back at the history of the biennial boxing competition, held since 2001 till the outbreak of Covid-19 forced the postponement of the 2021 edition.

The first AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships took place in 2001 in Scranton, USA, with 125 boxers from 30 countries. This was path-breaking because women boxers were not allowed to compete at the Olympics till the 2012 London Games.

In the last 20 years, the championships have been hosted by Antalya, Podolsk, New Delhi, Ningbo, Bridgetown, Qinhuangdao, Jeju, Astana and Ulan-Ude.

Since the first edition, more than 100 countries have taken part in the competitions, with 47 of these winning at least one medal between 2001 and 2019.

Russia has won the most medals, including 24 gold medals. China, India, DPR Korea, the United States of America, Canada, Turkey, Ireland, Kazakhstan and Italy are the remaining nations in the Top 10.

Chinese Taipei and Germany claimed their first gold medals at the New Delhi championships in 2018. Chinese Taipei won another two golds at Ulan-Ude in 2019, showing the success of their boxing programme.

Colombia, Mongolia and Wales joined the medallists as the 43rd, 44th and 45th countries in 2018. After its bronze in 2018, Wales claimed its first-ever gold medal in 2019. Morocco and Vietnam were the new medallist nations in the 2019 edition, both winning bronze medals in Ulan-Ude.

The 2022 championships will be held in Istanbul from May 8-20, with 93 countries registered to compete.

Overall Medal Tally in the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships 2001-2019

 Countries Gold Silver Bronze Total
1.  Russia24112560
2.  China18151750
3.  India981936
4.  DPR Korea871025
5. USA792238
6.  Canada721726
7.  Turkey681428
8.  Ireland6118
9.  Kazakhstan54918
10.  Italy44311
11.  France43411
12.  Ukraine371020
13.  Hungary351119
14.  Sweden32611
15.  Chinese Taipei3025
16.  England26513
17. Philippines22711
18.  Brazil2024
19.  Romania14813
20.  Poland13610
21.  Bulgaria1225
22.  Belarus1124
23.  Germany123
24.  Wales112
25.  Panama11
26.  Netherlands347
27.  Norway314
28.  Thailand246
29.  Argentina224
30.  Azerbaijan213
31.  Denmark156
32.  Australia134
33.  Greece123
34.  Colombia11
35.  Jamaica11
36.  Switzerland11
37.  Finland44
38.  Japan33
39.  Egypt22
40.  South Korea22
41.  Moldova11
42.  Mongolia11
43.  Morocco11
44.  New Zealand11
45.  Tajikistan11
46.  Tunisia11
47.  Vietnam11


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here